Guitar Playing Hero

18 Dec

image

Music is a great element in Life that keeps people happy.

Recently, in the Nursing/Rehabilitation Center I work at, I paired up with the local high school to give young musicians the chance for a part time job.

My job as the Recreation Director is to provide the Residents with entertainment that keeps them busy and happy throughout the course of the day. The facility I work in has 314 Residents and planning activities that everyone enjoys is not easy.

Many people have different hobbies and interest.

However, what I find that almost all people truly enjoy is music.

No matter what a person’s ethnicity, background or age, most people when music starts playing, get happy and will sing and dance.

It’s is phenomenal to watch a person’s demeanor change, someone who might have been having a bad or hopeless day, perk up and find enjoyment while listening to the sound of live music.

However, I don’t have a budget to hire musicians around the clock and to hire professionals is quite expensive.

Hiring a high school student for a fair hourly rate would be the perfect solution.

This would allow me to have music for the Residents for many additional hours per week.  Music makes the Residents happy and will help them to feel more calm.

It was also good that some of the local youth would have an opportunity to get a part time job and make some money.

It took me 2 months to find the right candidate and today the student musician started his first day working in the facility.

He was professional, his attitude was just right and his music was perfect for the Residents.

He played deep, soothing music and he sang with passion. His soft tunes helped the Residents settle into a calm mood.

He played in the common area and he played in Resident’s rooms for people who are unable to get out of bed due to their medical condition.

It was purely amazing to watch this young man, who had never been in a Nursing Facility before, adapt gracefully into his his surroundings by helping people ease their moods with beautiful music.

A Nursing/Rehabilitation facility is not the easiest place to work.  There is often a great deal of heartache that comes along w people being sick.

However, it has been my experience from working that music helps Residents reduce stress and relieve pressure. It helps them feel better and music is a catalyst that prompts people to relax.

For the young man, this is his first job.

For him, the experience is going to be fulfilling and it is going to be challenging.  He is going to learn a lot about healing, sickness and Life and Death

This young man will learn things about himself that he never had known before he stepped into our World with his guitar.

It will be my pleasure to help guide him along his journey by providing him with the opportunity to work.  Together we will help make the every day lives of people better.

Music, Music, Magic Music.

“And I…yeeeee I……had a feeling that I belonged. I……yeeee…..I..had a feeling I could be someone……be someone.”  – Tracy Chapman

Leave a comment